Academic Programs


The curricular offerings of the Academic Division are designed to provide academic courses equivalent to the first two years of college or university work that will be applicable to a baccalaureate or professional degree. The program a student plans to follow should be as parallel as possible to that of the freshman and sophomore years of the college or university to which he/she plans to attend. Students are encouraged to follow the course of study as outlined for the freshman and sophomore years, by the senior college to which the student plans to transfer after graduation. These programs are designed so that students can earn the two-year Associate of Arts Degree prior to transferring from Mississippi Delta Community College. Students who wish to pursue a bachelor's degree must transfer to a senior college or university.

MDCC participates, along with all other Mississippi Community and Junior Colleges, in an articulation agreement with all Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning, signed July, 2005. This agreement allows for over 160 prescribed areas of study, developed to allow ease of transfer from community colleges to the four-year institutions. This link exhibits the majors most frequently pursued by Mississippi Delta Community College students. These checklists are reflective of the courses guaranteed for transfer and graduation if followed. Students must consult with advisors in their area of study in order to stay on track toward successful transfer and graduation. However, all majors are available, through request, from the Office of Instruction or any MDCC academic advisor.

The academic courses offered by MDCC follow the uniform course numbering system for public junior/community colleges in Mississippi. The numbers for university parallel courses carry four digits. The first digit indicates the year that the course is normally taught. Generally courses required or recommended for freshman begin with a "1" and courses at the sophomore level begin with a "2". The fourth digit indicates semester-hour credit carried by the course. The second and third digits are used to separate courses within departments. The course descriptions are those adopted in the uniform numbering system and are intended to be equivalent to those courses offered at the same level at four-year institutions.

MDCC Withdrawal Policy


Teresa Webster
Vice President of Instruction
Boggs-Scroggins Student Services Building
Room 320

Sandra Joiner
Administrative Support for the Office of Instruction
Boggs-Scroggins Student Services Building
Room 319