CAPPS CENTER

Attendance / Withdrawal Information

 

Once you have submitted your withdrawal form to e-Learning or email to your instructor,
DO NOT log back into the course.

If you do, it's possible you will be charged for the course.

 

MDCC students can withdraw from an e-Learning class by completing the online Withdrawal Form.
Click here for the e-Learning Withdrawal Form 

MDCC Online Attendance/Withdrawal Policies

Fall 2017 Session Attendance Policies

Click here for the MSVCC Calendar. It is always available.

If you registered through another school, then your withdrawal privileges are governed by their regulations. Contact the eLC at your school of registry.  You must withdraw through the school that registered you.

 

 

Contact the eLearning Department

Thanks, in part, to the Internet, new avenues of learning are empowering people to pursue academic degrees and areas of study previously unavailable to them. The growth of "non-traditional" groups of students - working adults, commuters, distance education learners, and under-prepared students - has spurred demand for non-traditional methods of learning.

Mississippi Delta Community College, in an effort to enhance the mission of the institution and better serve its community, has drawn on technology resources heretofore unavailable to our students. Our Office of e-Learning coordinates and administers the development and delivery of Internet based courses which provide alternate and flexible means for the student to achieve their educational goals and be competitive in the global marketplace.

Our eLearning staff is on-hand to meet your distance learning educational needs Monday through Thursday from 8:00 a.m. until 5:00 p.m. You can reach our office by phone at any of the following numbers listed below or you can find us on the MS Delta campus. Our office is located in Horton 129B.

Protocol for Resolution of Grievances

If it is a TECHNICAL issue:

  • related to Canvas – contact the eLearning Staff

Brenda Bridgers, eLearning Coordinator
662-246-6341
vccdlc@msdelta.edu

Tracy Turner, eLearning Administrative Assistant
662-246-6319
tturner@msdelta.edu

Sarah Buchanan, eLearning Administrative Assistant
662-246-6400
sbuchanan@msdelta.edu

If it is related to the content of a class:

  1. Contact your instructor:
    1. MDCC Campus Directory
  2. If you are not satisfied, you may contact the Division Chair for that class:

· Math/Science – Debbie Gantz: dgantz@msdelta.edu 
· Dean of Health Sciences – Patricia Kelly: pkelly@msdelta.edu
· College Prep – Dawn Herring: dherring@msdelta.edu
· English – Emily Riser: eriser@msdelta.edu
· Humanities – Allyson Price: aprice@msdelta.edu
· Fine Arts - Jennifer Woodard: jwoodard@msdelta.edu
· Vice President of Instruction/Business Division Chair – Teresa Webster: twebster@msdelta.edu
· HPER - Burnadette McDonald: bmcdonald@msdelta.edu
· Dean of Career-Technical Education - Suzanne Thompson: sthompson@msdelta.edu

If you wish to take your issue further, contact the VP of Instruction, Ms. Teresa Webster
· email: twebster@msdelta.edu
· phone: 662-246-6317

eLearning Student Information & Services

elearning
The value of a college education from the accessibility of your home!

ADMISSIONS

Applications for admission to Mississippi Delta Community College should be submitted to the Associate VP of Enrollment Management. It is the responsibility of the student to arrange to have his/her record of high school or college credits (mailed directly from the school to MDCC) and other documents required for admission submitted in advance of registration.

Admissions information may be obtained from the Office of Enrollment Management at 662-246-6306. Applications for admission and other forms and information are available through this office and can also be printed form the website.

MDCC is an approved institution for providing educational training for veterans and GI Bill students.

For complete information click here.

 

Family Educational Rights & Privacy Act

The method with which Mississippi Delta Community College governs the distribution of student information is based on the Family Educational Rights and Privacy Act of 1974 or FERPA. This Act, as amended, established the requirements governing the privacy of student educational records in regards to the release of those records and access to those records. This Act is also known as the Buckley Amendment.

For complete information click here.

ADVISING

Academic advising is provided through designated campus advisors and also through the Online Support Coach, Ms. Valarie Morgan. During the advising session, a check sheet/degree plan will be outlined with graduation from MDCC being the end goal.

ACT English and Math sub scores will be used for placement according to the following chart.

Beginning English and Reading 1-13
Intermediate English and Reading 14-16
English Composition I 17+

Beginning Algebra 1-15
Intermediate Algebra 16-18
College Algebra 19+

ATTENDANCE/WITHDRAWAL INFORMATION

Weekly attendance is taken in the eLearning courses. Instructors will designate attendance markers within their Canvas course. Once a student has missed 3 attendance markers, he/she will be cut out of the class.

Students may not withdraw until the announced 60% date. After that date, students can complete the online withdrawal form. Click here to access this online form. Those not completing proper withdrawal procedures will receive an F in the course.

BOOKSTORE SERVICES

Students may acquire their textbooks through the MDCC campus bookstore.

MDCC Campus Bookstore
Tanner Building, Room 103
Moorhead Campus
Hours of Operation: Monday through Thursday, 8-4:30
Contact: Jeri Kay Jones, Manager
This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
662-246-6446

BUSINESS OFFICE

The Business Office is the financial hub of Mississippi Delta Community College. This office is responsible for billing and processing of tuition and fee payments, third party billings, and the disbursement of excess financial aid and other funds.

The Business Office is located in the Boggs-Scroggins Student Center on the Moorhead campus. Office hours are Monday-Thursday, 8:00 am to 5:00 pm.

For a complete fee schedule/payment listing, click here.

CALENDARS/IMPORTANT DATES

For all events and dates, click here to visit the web calendar.  Subscribe to the calendar, so you won't miss an event or important date!

CANVAS

Canvas is the Learning Management System used to navigate all eLearning courses and the tool for which students turn in assignments and communicate with their instructors. Once a student is admitted and schedule is made, access to Canvas will be granted. The web address for Canvas is msdelta.instructure.com.

CATALOG/STUDENT HANDBOOK

Click here for the catalog/student handbook. This book contains complete information on policies regarding academics, programs, courses, grievance procedures, history of the institution, disciplinary action, and many other policies and procedures.

COMPUTER SERVICES

For help with logging in to your student e-mail account, Banner, or Canvas, click here for the Computer Services section of the MDCC website. Instructions for setting up your phone to receive your school email may be found at this location also.

DISABILITY SERVICES

If a student has a disability that qualifies under the Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA) and requires accommodations, he/she should contact the Office of Student Disabilities Services for information on appropriate policies and procedures.

Contact information
Frances Williams
Phone: 662-246-6251
Fax: 662-246-8627
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

FINANCIAL AID

For help with completing your FAFSA or general information about Financial Aid, contact the Financial Aid Office at 662-246-6263.

For complete information click here.

LIBRARY

MDCC’s Library grants access to many online resources and databases. Database log in information may be found within a student’s course in Canvas.  Click here to visit the MDCC Library webpage.

STUDENT COMPLAINTS/GRIEVANCES

MDCC is committed to creating and maintaining a community where students, faculty, administration, and staff can work together in an atmosphere of mutual respect, functioning in one accord, with institutional policies and procedures. A student may use the procedures as outlined in the Catalog/Student Handbook for instructional and non-instructional complaints.

To submit a complaint, click here to complete the online Student Complaint Form.

TUTORING SERVICES

eLearning students have access to NetTutor which is an online service offered to students free of charge through their Canvas account. Just click on the course with which help is needed, click on NetTutor, and get the help you need from a credentialed professional.  Click here for tutorials and more information about NetTutor.

Welcome to eLearning with 
Mississippi Delta Community College!

keyboard

The Mississippi Virtual Community College (MSVCC) is a consortium of 15 Mississippi Community Colleges. Through MSVCC, students may take courses from community colleges anywhere in Mississippi while getting support services from MDCC. These services include advisement, counseling, financial aid, and learning resources.

The eLearning computer lab is located in Horton 129B
and is available for students who are enrolled in eLearning courses.

For more information about MDCC's eLearning Department, view our brochure.


To access eLearning Online Classes, use Canvas.

The web address for Canvas is msdelta.instructure.com.  
Please bookmark it, so you can quickly and easily log into your courses.



IMPORTANT DATES for eLearning students

Click on the calendar icon below
elearning calendar

 

For eLearning Policies and Procedures, view the
MDCC eLearning Policy Manual

 

Faculty Listing

eLearning Faculty Fall 2017 

Instructor Course Number Course Name Email
Ammons, John BIO 2511 90 A&P I Lab jammons@msdelta.edu
BIO 2513 90 A&P I Lec
BIO 2921 90 Microbiology Lab
BIO 2923 90 Microbiology Lecture
Ashley, Bill BAD 2713 90 Principles of Real Estate bashley@msdelta.edu
BAD 2723 90 Real Estate Law
BAD 2733 90 Real Estate Finance
Biles, Amy C CHE 1211 90 General Chemistry I Lab abiles@msdelta.edu
CHE 1213 90 General Chemistry I Lecture
Bridgers, Brenda CSC 1123 90 Computer Applications I bbridgers@msdelta.edu
Buckner, Shawonda SOC 2133 92 Social Problems sbuckner@msdelta.edu
Burkett, Ken PHI 1113 90 Old Testament Survey kburkett@msdelta.edu
PHI 1133 90 New Testament Survey
Craddock, Tracy ENG 1113 90 Comp I tcraddock@msdelta.edu
ENG 1123 91 Comp II
Farrell, Vanessa HPR 1313 90 Introduction to Kinesiology vfarrell@msdelta.edu
HPR 2213 90 First Aid & CPR
Forte, Andy BIO 1111 90 Principles of Biology I Lab aforte@msdelta.edu
BIO 1113 90 Principles of Biology I Lec
Fulford, Jackie FCS 1253 90/92 Nutrition jfulford@msdelta.edu
Green, Claire LLS 1413 90 Improvement of Study cgreen@msdelta.edu
Gregory, Christie PSY 2533 90 Human Growth cgregory@msdelta.edu
Hargett, Jenni ENG 2423 90/92 World Literature I jhargett@msdelta.edu
Herring, Dawn

LLS 1413 92 Improvement of Study dherring@msdelta.edu
LLS 1723 90/92 Employment Readiness
Holliman, Lynn MUS 1113 90 Music Appreciation lholliman@msdelta.edu
Huber, Ann

PHY 2241 90/92 Physical Science I Lab ahuber@msdelta.edu
PHY 2243 90/92 Physical Science I Lecture
Jordan, Sheba PSY 1513 92 General Psychology sjordan@msdelta.edu
PSY 2533 92 Human Growth
Kisner, Christie RGT 1213 90 Fund Radiology ckisner@msdelta.edu
Land, Lilly SPT 1153 90 Voice Diction And Phonetics lland@msdelta.edu
Ledbetter, Kathryn BIO 2521 90 A&P II Lab kledbetter@msdelta.edu
BIO 2523 90 A&P II Lec
Lloyd, Lisa BIO 1121 90 Principles of Biology II Lab llloyd@msdelta.edu
BIO 1123 90 Principles of Biology II Lec
Lofton, Allyson SOC 2113 92 Introduction To Sociology I alofton@msdelta.edu
SOC 2143 92 Marriage And Family
Mallette, Wallace ART 1113 92 Art Appreciation wmallette@msdelta.edu
Moore, Jacquelyn SOC 2143 90 Marriage And Family jcmoore@msdelta.edu
Moore, Renee ENG 1123 90 Comp II rmoore@msdelta.edu
Moore, Terry

PSY 1513 90 General Psychology tmoore@msdelta.edu
PSY 2513 90 Child Psychology
Putnam, Ashley TAH 1113 90 Medical Terms in Allied Health aputnam@msdelta.edu
Riser, Emily

ENG 1113 92 Comp I eriser@msdelta.edu
ENG 2433 90 World Literature II
Russell, Bill

HIS 2213 90 American (U.S.) History I brussell@msdelta.edu
HIS 2223 90 American (U.S.) History II
Sanford, Kimberly

HIS 2213 91 American (U.S.) History I ksanford@msdelta.edu
PSC 1113 90 American National Government
Shelton, Vernon

HIS 1163 90 World Civ I vshelton@msdelta.edu
HIS 1173 90 World Civ II
Street, Michelle BOA 2613 90 Business Communication mstreet@msdelta.edu
ECO 2113 90 Principles of Macroeconomics
Tabb, Vicki MAT 1313 90 College Algebra vtabb@msdelta.edu
Thompson, Whitney SPT 1113 91 Public Speaking I wthompson@msdelta.edu
SPT 2173 90 Interpersonal Communication
Tindall, Jim HPR 1213 90/92 Personal & Community Health jtindall@msdelta.edu
Toler, Robin SOC 2113 90 Introduction To Sociology I rtoler@msdelta.edu
SOC 2133 90 Social Problems
Webster, Roland BIO 2511 92 Anatomy & Physiology I Lab rwebster@msdelta.edu
BIO 2513 92 Anatomy & Physiology I Lecture
BIO 2521 92 Anatomy & Physiology II Lab
BIO 2523 92 Anatomy & Physiology II Lecture
Wheat, Candace ENG 1113 91 Comp I cwdavis@msdelta.edu
Wolfe, Lisa SPT 1113 90/92 Public Speaking I lwolfe@msdelta.edu
Williams, Heather ART 1913 90 Art for Elementary Teachers hwilliams@msdelta.edu
Woodard, Jennifer ART 1113 90 Art Appreciation jwoodard@msdelta.edu
Young, Thomas GEO 1113 90 World Regional Geography tyoung@msdelta.edu