CAMPUS TOUR

Academic Programs

academicsr

The curricular offerings of the Academic Division are designed to provide academic courses equivalent to the first two years of college or university work that will be applicable to a baccalaureate or professional degree. The program a student plans to follow should be as parallel as possible to that of the freshman and sophomore years of the college or university to which he/she plans to attend. Students are encouraged to follow the course of study as outlined for the freshman and sophomore years, by the senior college to which the student plans to transfer after graduation. These programs are designed so that students can earn the two-year Associate of Arts Degree prior to transferring from Mississippi Delta Community College. Students who wish to pursue a bachelor's degree must transfer to a senior college or university.

MDCC participates, along with all other Mississippi Community and Junior Colleges, in an articulation agreement with all Mississippi Institutions of Higher Learning, signed July, 2005. This agreement allows for over 160 prescribed areas of study, developed to allow ease of transfer from community colleges to the four-year institutions. This link exhibits the majors most frequently pursued by Mississippi Delta Community College students. These checklists are reflective of the courses guaranteed for transfer and graduation if followed. Students must consult with advisors in their area of study in order to stay on track toward successful transfer and graduation. However, all majors are available, through request, from the Office of Instruction or any MDCC academic advisor.

The academic courses offered by MDCC follow the uniform course numbering system for public junior/community colleges in Mississippi. The numbers for university parallel courses carry four digits. The first digit indicates the year that the course is normally taught. Generally courses required or recommended for freshman begin with a "1" and courses at the sophomore level begin with a "2". The fourth digit indicates semester-hour credit carried by the course. The second and third digits are used to separate courses within departments. The course descriptions are those adopted in the uniform numbering system and are intended to be equivalent to those courses offered at the same level at four-year institutions.

MDCC Withdrawal Policy

Contacts

Teresa Webster
Vice President of Instruction
Boggs-Scroggins Student Services Building
Room 320
662-246-6317
twebster@msdelta.edu

Sandra Joiner
Administrative Support for the Office of Instruction
Boggs-Scroggins Student Services Building
Room 319
662-246-6317
sjoiner@msdelta.edu

The Art Department

art

The Art Department is dedicated to education, research and service in the visual arts. Our faculty of visual artists, designers, art historians, and art educators provide a stimulating educational environment that encourages and develops a visually literate student. Students in the Art Department have access to a variety of media in the context of a liberal arts education. Ceramics, painting, graphic design, computer graphics, art history, and art education are all available for studies in our program. Specific degree information can be found in the MDCC Catalog.

The Art Department is located in the Yeates Fine Arts Building. The Fine Arts Building also houses the the Jean Abrams Art Gallery, where art exhibits are held.

Contacts

Jennifer Woodard,
Chair of Fine Arts
jwoodard@msdelta.edu
662-246-6348

Nancy Stone-Streett
nstonestreett@msdelta.edu
662-246-6180

Josh Vincent
jvincent@msdelta.edu
662-246-6336

Art Department
662-246-6332

The College Prep Department

college prepThe College Prep courses are designed to help each student elevate his/her skills according to individual needs. These courses are available to those students who need assistance in related academic areas, such as English, Math, and Reading. Students must make a "C" or better in each College Prep course and/or meet the requirements of any exit exam at the end of each course in order to be eligible for full admission status. A student who fails to meet these standards in College Prep courses will be required to re-enroll in the courses and will not be eligible for full admission until the exit standards are met in each College Prep course.

Contacts

Dawn Herring, Chair
dherring@msdelta.edu
662-246-6386

Debbie Blanks
dblanks@msdelta.edu
662-332-8011

Claire Green
cgreen@msdelta.edu
662-246-6399

Anita Horn
ahorn@msdelta.edu
662-453-7377

Valarie Morgan
vmorgan@msdelta.edu
662-246-6546

The Business Department

business


The Business Department houses two different majors, both of which transfer to a 4-year university.

Business offers core courses and general business courses which will lead to junior level courses majoring in Accountancy, Banking and Finance, Economics, General Business, Insurance, International Business, Marketing, Management, etc.  Click here to view the Business Administration check sheet.

Computer Information Systems offers core courses and general computer courses which will lead to junior level courses majoring in Programming/Analysis, Information Technology, and other related computer careers.  Click here to view the Computer Information Systems check sheet.

Contacts

Name Courses 
Taught
Classroom/ 
Office Location
Office Phone Email
Teresa Webster, Chair Vice President of Instruction Boggs Scroggins 320 662-246-6317 twebster@msdelta.edu
Brenda Bridgers Computer Apps I
Keyboarding
Horton 129A

Greenwood Center (Tuesdays/Thursdays)

662-246-6275 bbridgers@msdelta.edu
Steve Ross Computer Apps I Library 130
(Tuesdays/Thursdays)

GHEC
(Mondays/Wednesdays and Tuesday night)

662-246-6424 sross@msdelta.edu
Michelle Street Business Stats
Legal Envir. of Business
Macroeconomics
Microeconomics
Horton 131

GHEC
(Tuesdays/Thursdays)

662-246-6379 mstreet@msdelta.edu

The English Department

book row

CONTACTS

Emily Riser
Division Chair,
English Instructor
Horton 121
662-246-6394
eriser@msdelta.edu
Sarah Buchanan
Administrative Support
Horton 137
662-246-6400
sbuchanan@msdelta.edu

 

Faculty Contacts

Name Office Location Phone Email
Tracy Craddock
English Instructor

Horton 262

662-246-6392

tcraddock@msdelta.edu

Jenni Hargett
English Instructor

Horton 133

662-246-6459 jhargett@msdelta.edu

Zane Hodge
English Instructor

Greenwood Center, Office 10

662-453-7377

zhodge@msdelta.edu

Renee Moore
English Instructor

GHEC

662-332-8011

rmoore@msdelta.edu

Jorene Pettiet
English Instructor

GHEC

662-332-8011

jpettiet@msdelta.edu

Sunita Sharma
English Instructor

Horton 119

662-246-6375

ssharma@msdelta.edu