LETA graduates new cadets

leta oct2015w

The next generation of law enforcement professionals recently graduated from Mississippi Delta Community College's Law Enforcement Training Academy on the college's Moorhead, Miss., campus.

Graduates not only received their law enforcement certification, but also completed 22 college credit hours.

Mississippi Delta Community College is proud to host law enforcement training for the officers of the great state of Mississippi. Our Law Enforcement Training Academy, more commonly known as LETA, is accelerating by leaps and bounds.

In an effort to produce more efficient and safety conscious officers, we offer our cadets a twelve-week training regimen including physical fitness examinations, firearms certification and classroom training. In addition to the mandatory 12-week training course, LETA also offers advanced training to police officers.

03 Nov 2015

MDCC Trojans tipoff Monday night against Hinds

MDCC's basketball season tips off Monday, Nov. 2 at 6 p.m. at J.T. Hall Coliseum with the Lady Trojans hosting Hinds. The men's team is scheduled to play at 8 p.m.

Featured Trojan Athletes
harper skeen

Travon Haper

McKinnon Skeen

A native of McNeil, Ark., sophomore forward Travon Harper is looking forward to the start of basketball season Nov. 2.

Harper is a physical education major and plans to continue his studies and college basketball career at a university after leaving MDCC.

His favorite professional athlete is Kobe Bryant and enjoys hunting, fishing and riding four-wheelers when he isn't on the court

On the women's side, sophomore guard McKinnon Skeen is ready to go head-to-head with her MACJC opponents.

Skeen is a math major from Cleveland, Miss. and plans to continue her education at a university after graduating from MDCC.

She is also a member of Phi Theta Kappa. Her favorite professional athlete is Steph Curry.

MDCC's Phi Theta Kappa welcomes new members


The Zeta Zeta Chapter of Phi Theta Kappa on the Moorhead Campus of Mississippi Delta Community College recently held their induction ceremony.

The Zeta Zeta Chapter of PTK was chartered on the Sunflower Junior College campus is 1947. Since that time PTK has been an integral part of campus life, encouraging academic excellence.

The purpose of Phi Theta Kappa is to recognize and encourage scholarship among two-year college students. To achieve this purpose, Phi Theta Kappa provides opportunity for the development of leadership and service, for an intellectual climate for exchange of ideas and ideals, for lively fellowship for scholars, and for stimulation of interest in continuing academic excellence.

Members of Phi Theta Kappa have opportunities to receive some of more than $37 million in scholarships provided exclusively for Phi Theta Kappa members. Members in the United States are also eligible to participate in the All-USA Academic Team program, co-sponsored by USA Today, and by extension their own statewide academic teams. Members also receive automatic nominations to the National Dean's List and job postings exclusively for Phi Theta Kappans.

31 Oct 2015

MDCC welcomes new public relations and sports information director

Mississippi Delta Community College is pleased to announce the hire of Jamie Scrivener as the new Public Relations and Sports Information Director. She will be responsible for enhancing the college’s reputation through press releases and social media promotion as well as updating statistics and publishing stories about athletics and coordinating with outside media sources.

“I am very pleased to welcome Jamie to the MDCC family,” says Reed Abraham, MDCC associate vice president for public relations and college advancement.” Her experience and passion for athletics make her a great fit.”

For the past year, Scrivener was the general assignment reporter at the Enterprise-Tocsin newspaper in Indianola, Miss. Prior to moving to the Delta in October 2014, she worked for WCBI-TV in Columbus, Miss. as a website writer and production assistant.

Scrivener received a bachelor’s degree in communication with a minor in marketing from Mississippi University for Women in 2013.

For more information, visit www.msdelta.edu or call (662) 246-MDCC.


D. Reed Abraham
Assoc. Vice-President for Public Relations
Mississippi Delta Community College
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Office: (662) 246-6273

28 Oct 2015

Thursday night incident

During Thursday evening's matchup versus East Mississippi Community College, officials ended the football game near the half due to an on-field altercation.

This incident does not represent the sportsmanship that we expect of our student athletes at Mississippi Delta Community College. The college is cooperating with the league investigation into the incident.

MDCC will not tolerate this type of behavior and will begin its own internal investigation.

We apologize to our fans and supporters.

D. Reed Abraham
Assoc Vice-President for Public Relations
Mississippi Delta Community College
Email: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Office: (662) 246-6273

MEDIA CONTACT: D. REED ABRAHAM, MDCC PUBLIC RELATIONS, EMAIL: This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

23 Oct 2015

Lineman trainees support breast cancer awareness

MDCC Electrical Utility Lineman Trainees are supporting Breast Cancer Awareness this month. Trainees are pictured wearing pink hard hats presented to them by Mitzi Woods of South Delta Planning and Development District, one of the supporting organizations that assist with funding for this program.

lineman bca2015

On Oct. 29, the class will wear the pink hard hats while competing against each other in MDCC's Lineman Trainee Competition. The public event will be held on the Moorhead campus adjacent at the Lineman Training area located adjacent to the baseball field starting at 8:30 a.m.

Each timed event measures the trainee's level of skill plus the use of personal protective equipment (PPE) and safe practices required to accomplish tasks. Please call 662-887-2876 for further details.

The next lineman class begins in January and applications are still being accepted. To apply, visit www.thecappscenter.com and submit your information by Oct. 30.

Since fall of 2010, the MDCC Electrical Lineman Training Program has graduated 111 trainees. Over 90 percent of those graduates are working in the electrical transmission or construction industry.

22 Oct 2015
Page 4 of 38